Managing the Transition from Aid Dependence in sub-Saharan Africa

The project was coordinated by Prof. Samuel Wangwe of the Economic and Social Foundation (ESRF), Tanzania and Dr. Carol Lancaster of Georgetown University, Washington.  The project steering committee was composed of: Augustine Fosu and Catherine Gwin (co-chairs), Carol Lancaster and Samuel Wangwe (coordinators), Ali Ali, Jean-Paul Azam, Robert Gates, Jean Bossuyt, Paul Collier, Alan Gelg, William Kalema, Ravi Kanbur, Hirohisa Kohama, Delphin Rwegasira, Germina Ssemogerere, and Kerfalla Yansane (members).

The framework papers and the eight country case studies covered under this project (Botswana, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Mali, Mozambique, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia) have been published.